skip navigation

Iowa State Announces 2023-24 Women’s Basketball Conference Schedule

By World Exposure Report News Service, 09/26/23, 12:15PM CDT


Nyamer Diew World Exposure Report

Nyamer Diew

The 2023-24 Big 12 women's basketball season opens Saturday, Dec. 30, as the league embarks on its first season with 14 members.

The 18-game schedule concludes Sunday, March 3, leading into the Phillips 66 Big 12 Women's Basketball Championship, which takes place in Kansas City's T-Mobile Center for the first time, March 7-12.

Each team will face five Big 12 opponents twice and eight Conference foes once. Opponents were selected based on a combination of geography, historical results and a poll of the coaches to best balance the schedule in terms of travel and competitiveness. Iowa State's schedule matrix features home and road contests against BYU, Kansas, Kansas State, Oklahoma State and West Virginia. The Cyclones will also play host to Baylor, Cincinnati, Oklahoma and TCU in home only contests while they travel to UCF, Houston, Texas and Texas Tech. The Big 12 schedule matrix was announced in July.

Iowa State will open its conference schedule on the road at Oklahoma State on December 30 before returning to Hilton Coliseum on January 3 for its first home conference game against Kansas.

Complete television information will be released at a later date.

The 2022-23 season concluded with 90 percent of Big 12 teams finishing with winning records, a feat no other league has accomplished since the formation of the Big 12 Conference. A nation-leading 60 percent of Big 12 squads were selected to the 2023 NCAA Tournament and 90 percent reached the national postseason.

Iowa State's full schedule can be found below.

Date                                  Opponent                        Location

Wednesday, Nov. 1         Truman State (Exh.)       Ames, Iowa

Monday, Nov. 6               Butler                                Ames, Iowa

Sunday, Nov. 12              Drake                                Des Moines, Iowa

Monday, Nov. 20             Southern                          Ames, Iowa

Friday, Nov. 24                Vanderbilt*                      Las Vegas, Nev.

Saturday, Nov. 25            Syracuse*                         Las Vegas, Nev.

Wednesday, Nov. 29      St. Thomas                       St. Paul, Minn.

Sunday, Dec. 3                 UNC Wilmington             Ames, Iowa

Wednesday, Dec. 6         Iowa^                                Ames, Iowa

Sunday, Dec. 10               North Dakota State         Ames, Iowa

Sunday, Dec. 17               Troy                                   Ames, Iowa

Wednesday, Dec. 20       UNI                                    Ames, Iowa

Saturday, Dec. 30           at Oklahoma State         Stillwater, Okla.

Wednesday, Jan. 3         Kansas                              Ames, Iowa

Saturday, Jan. 6              at BYU                               Provo, Utah

Wednesday, Jan. 10       West Virginia                   Ames, Iowa

Saturday, Jan. 13            Baylor                                Ames, Iowa

Wednesday, Jan. 17       at Texas Tech                   Lubbock, Texas

Saturday, Jan. 20            TCU                                    Ames, Iowa

Wednesday, Jan. 24       at Kansas                          Lawrence, Kan.

Saturday, Jan. 27            at West Virginia              Morgantown, W. Va.

Wednesday, Jan. 31       Oklahoma State              Ames, Iowa

Saturday, Feb. 3              at UCF                               Orlando, Fla.

Saturday, Feb. 10            Oklahoma                        Ames, Iowa

Wednesday, Feb. 14      Kansas State                    Ames, Iowa

Saturday, Feb. 17            at Texas                            Austin, Texas

Wednesday, Feb. 21      at Houston                       Houston, Texas

Saturday, Feb. 24            BYU                                    Ames, Iowa

Wednesday, Feb. 28      at Kansas State               Manhattan, Kan.

Saturday, March 2          Cincinnati                         Ames, Iowa

BOLD – Big 12 Conference

* – South Point Shootout

^ – Iowa Corn Cy-Hawk Series

Most Popular