skip navigation


By World Exposure News Services, 12/23/20, 4:45PM CST


Maxwell Football Club Executive Director Mark Wolpert announced the 2020 finalists for the 84th Maxwell Award for the Collegiate Player of the Year.

The lists includes a field of three candidates as determined by the semifinalist voting process which ended Dec. 20.

All finalists are listed in alphabetical order by player's school with position and class designated.

2020 Maxwell Award Finalists

Mac Jones, QB, Alabama
Trevor Lawrence, QB, Clemson
DeVonta Smith, WR, Alabama

Jones has led the No. 1 ranked Crimson Tide to an 11-0 (11-0 SEC) record and an SEC title this fall. He has authored one of the most prolific seasons by a quarterback in recent history, throwing for 3,739 yards and 32 touchdowns while only throwing four interceptions. He added one rushing touchdown and has a passer rating of 202.3.On Saturday night he led Alabama to a 52-46 win over Florida in the SEC Championship Game, passing for 418 yards and five touchdowns.

Lawrence capped off a stellar 2020 season by leading the Tigers to a 34-10 win over Notre Dame in the ACC Championship Game Saturday night. He passed for 322 yards and two touchdowns in the contest and added 90 yds on the ground, earning Clemson a spot in the College Football Playoff against Ohio State. His 412 yards of total offense against Notre Dame were second-most in ACC Championship Game history, and he became the first starting quarterback ever to win three ACC Championship Games.  For the season Lawrence has passed for 2,753 yards, 22 touchdowns, and has a passer rating of 172.7. He has a 34-1 career record as a starter at Clemson.

Smith returned for his senior season in Tuscaloosa and has made the most of the opportunity posting 98 receptions for 1,511 yds and 17 touchdowns. His per game receiving yard average is an eye-popping 137.3 yds per game and he has also chipped in with one rushing touchdown and one return touchdown. One of the top route runners in college football, Smith is devastating after the catch and he is now the all-time leading receiver in Alabama history.

Last season, the Maxwell Award went to LSU quarterback Joe Burrow. Winners of the 84th Maxwell Award and the 26th Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on January 7, 2021.

Voting for both of the collegiate awards presented by the Maxwell Football Club will begin on Tuesday December 22 and close on Saturday January 2, 2021. Eligible voters include Maxwell Football Club members, NCAA Head Football Coaches, Sports Information Directors and selected national media.